Deux nouvelles études sur les effets de l’arsenic chez les grenouilles

Nous avons récemment menés des expositions d’arsenic aiguës et chroniques chez les grenouilles. Pour les expositions aiguës, nous avons découvert que les gènes impliqués dans la transduction du signal, la survie cellulaire, les voies de développement et le remodelage des histones ont changé significativement leur expression suivant un traitement à l’arsenic ce qui suggère que les animaux exposés essaient de survivre et de poursuivre leur développement malgré la contamination de l’eau.

Zhang J, Koch I, Gibson LA, Loughery JR, Martyniuk CJ, Button M, Caumette G, Reimer KJ, Cullen WR  and VS Langlois (2015) Transcriptomic responses during early development following arsenic exposure in Western clawed frogs, Silurana tropicalis. Tox Sci 148(2):603-17. ARTICLE

Pour ce qui est des expositions chroniques, une perturbation endocrinienne a été observé chez les grenouilles exposées à des concentrations de AsV retrouvées dans l’environnement, puisque l’expression des gènes liés à la reproduction et aux hormones thyroïdiennes variaient entre les tissus et les stades de développement suivant l’exposition à l’arsenic.

Gibson L, Caumette G, Button M, Koch I Reimer KJ, Cullen WR  and VS Langlois (2016) Life cycle exposure of the frog Silurana tropicalis to arsenate: Steroid- and thyroid hormone-related genes are differently altered throughout development. Gen Comp Endocrinol doi: 10.1016/j.ygcen.2015.09.015. [Epub ahead of print] ARTICLE

Two new studies on the effects of arsenic in frogs

We recently conducted acute and chronic arsenic exposures to frogs. In the acute exposures performed during early development, we have discovered that genes involved with signal transduction, cell survival, developmental pathways, and histone remodeling have their expression altered following arsenic exposure suggesting that AsV-treated animals are coping with the contaminated water in order to survive and continue their development.

Zhang J, Koch I, Gibson LA, Loughery JR, Martyniuk CJ, Button M, Caumette G, Reimer KJ, Cullen WR  and VS Langlois (2015) Transcriptomic responses during early development following arsenic exposure in Western clawed frogs, Silurana tropicalis. Tox Sci 148(2):603-17. ARTICLE

In the chronic exposures, endocrine disruption was observed in frogs exposed to environmentally relevant concentrations of AsV as transcripts related to reproduction and thyroid hormones varied among tissues and developmental stages analyzed.

Gibson L, Caumette G, Button M, Koch I Reimer KJ, Cullen WR  and VS Langlois (2016) Life cycle exposure of the frog Silurana tropicalis to arsenate: Steroid- and thyroid hormone-related genes are differently altered throughout development. Gen Comp Endocrinol doi: 10.1016/j.ygcen.2015.09.015. [Epub ahead of print] ARTICLE